Slip Diary #1

Before I start I should point out that these diary posts are more for my own use.  Many of you are liable to find that the posts in this series more-often-than-not will be of little or no use. Of course, those of you that just have to know every little thing about people will be more than a little interested.

My slinky purple half slip

As I say, I’m not totally sure where I want these – I’ll call them “sub-posts” – to go or how detailed they’ll be.  There probably won’t be a lot of structure like there is with other posts; more likely they will be a jumble of thoughts as they occur to me, or as I buy knew slips they will be noted (probably with a pic).  To reiterate they’re really more for my own benefit – hell, it’s my blog after all – and if you truly don’t want to know about them they’ll be easy to spot because they have “Slip Diary” in the title and they will be categorised in the same way.

Sure, I could have made them private but where’s the fun in that?  Obviously I will do my utmost to make them interesting to the casual reader, but don’t be surprised if you sometimes find them a bit boring or repetitive.  I may include some pics of me in various slips from my collection from time-to-time, just to make them more enticing.

Right, onto the post proper.

At the time of writing I have just a general idea of how many slips I actually have in my collection. I know that it’s  over a hundred; it may even be in the 200’s – at any rate it’s “quite a lot!”.  For my own amusement I’ve decided to count them up at some poin, hopefully before the next instalment so that I can include it in the post.

Where did it all start?

I’ve been trying to think about where this fascination for these silky soft creations came from.  I think they are some of the most feminine items that can be found and I’m sure if women realised just what affect they have on a lot of men, then they’d be more inclined to start wearing them.

So, I guess I’ve hit upon one of the main reasons that I’ve decided to do this now … maybe I’ll be able to figure out exactly why this fetish began.

There are numerous documented cases from other slip lovers where their reasons for developing their own fascination with slips is obvious – the most common scenario being those guys whose mothers regularly walked around the house in a bra and slip.  For me, though, I have to say with some regret, this didn’t happen.  There were very few occasions when I saw my mum in a slip.

In an earlier post, “The First Pangs of Desire”, I told how my first foray into crossdressing ‘proper’ came about involved one of my mum’s full-length slips.  Well, once I had left school and started work the very first items of femme clothes I bought were slips. Sadly, I don’t still have any of those because they were lost in the first purge of my crossdressing life.

Recent history

Fast-forward to more recent times and, if anything, my obsession with slips has grown. Some may even say it’s out of control.

Before I was made redundant I had been buying an average of 6 or 7 slips a month, mainly from eBay.  I rarely went a month without buying at least 2.  Since I’ve not been working I have had to watch the pennies and so I’ve not bought a slip in over a year, and I found it particularly difficult to resist  running out to the local mall in the run-up to Christmas.  I’ve found that it’s really the one time a guy can get away with hanging around the lingerie deparment, apart from maybe Valentine’s day!

My own penchant is for the half slip (or waist slip).  Some slip fans prefer the full-slip.  I can’t give you a definitive reason as to why this may be.  That doesn’t mean that I discount full-slips entirely and I do have some in my collection, albeit a small percentage.

All I can tell you for sure is that after 30-plus years of dressing I still can’t resist a gorgeous, shiny satin slip.  It causes such intense feelings that I am prone to impulse buys that have resulted in me ending up with more than one of a particular style / colour. It wouldn’t surprise me to find a number of “doubles” or even “triples”.

Such impulse buys are invariably in places like BHS and M&S, sometimes Debenhams as they seem to be about the only places that stock an albeit limited supply of slips.  In other words places that are popular with friends and family, so you won’t be surprised to learn that, in the past, I’ve been spotted by people I know.

Luckily I’ve been able to talk my way out of trouble but I doubt that will always be the case.


Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

