The purge

The “purge” is the scourge of the crossdresser.

It has blighted all of us at one time or another, and often more than once.  So what is it exactly, and can you save yourself from it?

Let’s take the first part of the question first. What is it?  Purging is when you take all of your female clothing, along with all the makeup and accessories … and … well … throw them away.

The most popular reasons for carrying out this atrocity are guilt, or shame, over the conflicting feelings that we have as a result of our dressing in the clothes of the opposite sex.

Whilst these feelings are entirely natural, and almost every crossdresser / transvestite has been through numerous purges. My hope is that, if you’re on the verge of a purge, this post will help you understand the drawbacks and, with any luck, help you to avoid it.

So … can you save yourself? Damn right you can.

Many crossdressers have purged their things believing that doing so will cure their desire to dress – one of the things that went through my head before my first purge was “If I don’t have the clothes there to tempt me, I can stop wanting to dress”.

The amount of time that will elapse before your need returns can range from a matter of days, weeks or months; in extreme cases it may take years. However, the undeniable truth is that it WILL return – when it does you may feel more guilt at having thrown your stuff out.

Have you thought about this: those things you’re about to throw out? You bought them with your hard-earned wages – do you really want to have wasted that?

And what about the fact that thousands of people in this situation before you?   Each and every one of them ended up spending a lot more money putting their wardrobes back together. Did you stop to think that things have a habit of becoming more expensive over time?  That means that the more times you purge, the more money you spend when you find you can’t do without your femme side.

I was lucky in my own experiences with purging, because I only purged twice before I accepted my need to dress was a part of who I am, and that it wasn’t going to go away. The second purge was a lot worse for me, purely because I had a LOT more clothes. Why was I lucky? Well, there are people who have purged three, four or five times (and sometimes more).

I was particularly annoyed after the second purge because I had a number of items in that wardrobe that I regretted getting rid of. It took a long time to get over that feeling of stupidity.

Of course, there are other factors that can lead to purging – things like a lack of privacy afforded by your current living arrangements, or maybe your “significant other” has discovered your secret and has told you to get rid of your things “or else”.

If you honestly believe that there is no other way around this, you can always donate your outfits and shoes to a charity. At least they’ll be put to good use.

Or you could pack everything away in boxes or bags – something that can be sealed tight. If you want to label them, use something ordinary like “Books” or “Football programmes”. Place them somewhere you wouldn’t ordinarily see them – make sure it’s somewhere safe. If you don’t have room for them ask a friend or member of the family if they will store them for you for a while.

If you are one of the lucky ones that has someone who supports your dressing, this will make things a lot easier. Talk to them the next time you feel the urge to get rid of your feminine finery.

I know it’s difficult but you will need to be strong about this – please resist the urge to simply throw it all away.

It will cost you less in the long run, emotionally as well as financially.

One thought on “The purge”

  1. I understand your insights on this. It seems like such a waste to throw out all the clothes if you are just going to buy them again. But I think most purges happen because the crossdresser thinks he is finally going to quit for sure. I think if someone is going to quit, they have to be fully committed. Keeping aside some clothes with the expectation that you will crossdress again in the future, well that takes away the whole point of the purge. So I find it unlikely that anyone would purge some but not all of their female clothing. If I was counseling someone to quit, I’d hope that they’d give the clothes away instead of filling up the landfill 🙂 , but I’d also counsel them to go all the way in quitting by not leaving any temptations around..

Leave a Reply

